Lucha Libre Unida: Gimnasio Nuevo Mezquital (08-16-2015) Sirenia & Pumas (Baby & Lady) vs. Dark Fantasy, Katary, & Tsunami

Screenshot 2015-10-11 17.47.35

Another stellar effort from this promotion!

Suggestion comes from Rah, @Rowdy_Rahddy on Twitter.

This is a Two Out of Three Falls Match.

I guess I’ve been lucky all these years to have avoided the very worst of Mexican indie sleaze promotions. I’ve seen my fair share of trash from Mexico, don’t get me wrong. But most of it is just bad, and every once in a while it is so awful it’s good, think Konan Big. So far my experience with Lucha Libre Unida is that it is just flat out awful. Sure, I chuckled a few times here and there, but this match was a mess of bullshit happening surrounded by botches and laziness. That’s bad, though I suppose on the whole I’d rather watch something bad like this than a super long self-important epic that is merely mediocre in quality.

To the match at hand, uh, a lot of awful stuff happens. The picture I used for this match sums up the match perfectly. In it you have Lady Puma going through a reversal sequence with Dark Fantasy. It’s supposed to end with Lady kipping up right into a Headscissors Takedown. Except Fantasy is out of position, and Lady mistimes her kip up. The result is that Lady comes up way short, does a sort of handstand, and stumbles to the ground while Fantasy waves at the air trying to catch a pair of legs that never quite got to her. Awful stuff, but I chuckled, I’ll give the match that much.

I wish more of the match had been like that, and at times it is. There’s an awesome sequence where Katary executes some sort of Rollup on Baby Puma where the ref has no idea whose shoulders are supposed to be on the mat. What does he do, he counts both of them out in very slow fashion while looking puzzled as to what the wrestlers expect from him. Katary thinks she’s gotten the pinfall, and the ref is like, “Uh, yeah, I don’t know, just get out of the ring.” That’s funny bad, the sort of bad that I can and do get a kick out of.

However, most of the match wasn’t funny bad, it was just bad. Terrible looking Kicks and Punches. Sirenia running the ropes in slow motion, Tsunami kind of standing around all the time because she has no idea where she’s supposed to be; that was the norm for the match. I actually enjoyed the elements of the match that were so awful they were fun to watch. If only there has been more of that and less painfully unfunny bad wrestling.

Cheers,
Bill Thompson

One thought on “Lucha Libre Unida: Gimnasio Nuevo Mezquital (08-16-2015) Sirenia & Pumas (Baby & Lady) vs. Dark Fantasy, Katary, & Tsunami

Leave a comment